What shall I look for in buying a watchmaker's bench?

swordfish

Gentlemen (and ladies, if any are here), I seek your advice. I'm ready to take the plunge, and buy a proper watchmaker's bench. I am a hobbyist who has outgrown my desktop mini-bench.

I know that I want a work bench with many drawers. One of my motivations in getting a bench is the fact that my work-related clutter has spread laterally because I have virtually no usable drawer space now.

What else should I look for in a bench? I like the idea of a roller top which I can pull down over work in progress to (1) keep my wife's cats from poking around, and (2) reduce the eye-noise of the work site. Is there a downside to that? What other features should I look for?

If there is a question I've not posed here, but should have, please weigh in with guidance. Thanks to all of you!

—Eric

Youngstown, Ohio

USA

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

There are purpose build benches that sort of curve around your body. However most don,t use these (such as myself) 

I just adapted a workbench getting it the correct height for me. I use draws & stacking shelves attached to the walls. 

Your space I expect will be different.