Hi all, I'm new here. I picked up a Tissot Navigator dive watch model 44940 recently with a 2481 movement. This movement normally has a quick set date where pushing the crown will advance the date. But this model has a screw down crown and doesn't have a quick set date, though the movement is a 2481. I'm told that they deleted that feature in order to accommodate the screw down feature.

Before I understood this I was careless and tried pulling the crown out further, thinking the date may be quickset in the outermost position. I was careless and probably pulled too hard, as something seemed to give and now the crown/stem is loose and doesn't work well. I can see that It's still intact if I remove it so something inside the movement must've given. 

I'm a hobbyist and not skilled enough to repair this movement to this extent yet, though I can replace a movement. But a Tissot collector has told me that he thinks a part is removed from the 2481 by Tissot in order for them to use it in a watch with a screw down crown. If that's true then I can't just replace this movement with the same movement from a donor watch without a screw down crown (which is about all that's available from sellers). Can anyone offer any advice on this (apart from me sending it to my watch guy)? I appreciate any advice.

34 minutes ago, Beto said:

Hi all, I'm new here. I picked up a Tissot Navigator dive watch model 44940 recently with a 2481 movement. This movement normally has a quick set date where pushing the crown will advance the date. But this model has a screw down crown and doesn't have a quick set date, though the movement is a 2481. I'm told that they deleted that feature in order to accommodate the screw down feature.