Total Novice - Need to order a movement for my Rotary Watch

Hey All,

I have a Rotary GS08002/10.  I took it in for a battery replacement, and it was DOA.

I live in the US.  I contacted Rotary in the UK.  They said I could mail it to them for an assessment.  But after paying for postage and their fee, it was over $100.00.  Having them just send me a new movement was about the same price.

After reading up on Rotary watches, I'm quite sure that it has a Japanese movement.  Can anyone tell me what it might be?  Is it commonly available?  If so, it doesn't make much sense to order it from Rotary.

I can order the part, and take it to a local watchmaker.  Or have them order the part.  I don't know which option is more feasible.

I know that this isn't an expensive watch, and the best option is to purchase a new one.  But this was a gift, and has a lot of sentimental value to me.  So I would rather have it fixed.

Thanks everyone,

Rotary back.jpg

Rotary face.jpg

Thanks for the quick responses.

I found a tutorial on how to open the case.  That was simple, and got it open. 

It is a Ronda caliber 1006.  I found an exact match online.  There is a picture attached.  The movement has a bunch of scratches on it.  Is that typical?  It was purchased new, and it has only been opened for battery changes.

I did an online search, and it doesn't seem to be sold in the US.  I found some that were "new" on Ebay.  With shipping and all,  it will be about $60.00. 

Rotary had offered to sell me a new movement for $75.00.   That might be my best course.  That way, I will know for sure. 

I'm going to try another new battery, just to be safe.  I had taken it in for one, and the watch still didn't work.  But it was just a guy in a kiosk at the mall.  The battery he was selling might have been old.  I can buy an Energizer on Amazon for $4.00 USD.  It's worth a shot.