Hampden pocket watch 2575591 16s Balance not moving freely (replaced balance staff)

I recently replaced a broken balance staff on a Hampden 16s pocket watch (first time doing this). This included truing and poising the balance.
After reassembling the watch (after a complete cleaning) the watch does not want to stay running.
I removed balance and pallett, then reinstalled the balance.
The balance rotates freely in all positions except in the dial down position. It looks like it's dragging slightly and then comes to a sudden stop instead of smoothly occeilating.
I have inspected the jewel and it looks ok to me.
The end shake also seems right, but I am a beginner with this kind of work.
Any suggestions on what I got wrong here or am missing?
Thanks,
Bill

P7290053.JPG

When you purchased your replacement staff did you measure it and compare it with the staff that you  removed from the watch?

5 hours ago, BillM said:

The balance rotates freely in all positions except in the dial down position. It looks like it's dragging slightly and then comes to a sudden stop instead of smoothly occeilating.

Possibly isn't the jewel.

It would be nice if you remove the balance with Ridge flip it over and give us a picture as I don't like the image I'm seeing here. This is a bimetallic balance wheel if I look at the top of the image the gap is nice and small but on the bottom of the image they gap appears to be hopefully optical illusion it looks to be quite huge?

image.png.a36ac797672f909d0969f21bfd395e30.png

• Like 1

It's hard to tell in the second photo but looks like the arms might be bent in just a hair? Not the reason why it's stopping low

Then did you verify that the new staff looks exactly like the old staff preferably measuring with a micrometer. Often times there can be staff size variations even for the same part number

8 hours ago, BillM said:

. It looks like it's dragging slightly and then comes to a sudden stop instead of smoothly occeilating.