Complete Novice Jum/7 Schatz

Hi I've just started a repair cafe and one of our volunteers registered in a Schatz Jum/7 clock. We shouldn't have accepted it as we have no expert clock repairers but one of our enthusiastic volunteers decided to have ago! 

Anyway it ended up in bits..... 

We've put part of our back together but was after some help. 

We've noticed one of the wheels pins has snapped off and we believe it had been over wound. 

At the very least we'd like to put this back together or if anyone thinks they can help repair it that would be appreciated. It's not been working for over ten years.

Thanks in advance

IMG_20230416_223956.jpg

IMG_20230415_161710.jpg

To start with you cannot overwind a clock or a watch. When someone doesn't know what they are doing this sort of thing can happen. These anniversary clocks can be very temperamental to repair. The pivot has been broken off, so a new pivot would have to be made and fitted or a complete new wheel would have to be found. We need to see the complete back plate to I D the clock. It might be possible to find an old movement or the part on ebay. It will cost a lot of money to get this clock working again this will depend on the repair and parts, The suspension spring will need to be replaced (that is the very thin spring with a block at each end and a fork part way down from the top block. In the end It probably won't be worth repairing. I hope you have good insurance that covers you for this type of thing. A new clock will cost over £100 here in the UK with that type of movement. 

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

8 hours ago, oldhippy said: