Hello all

Hello, I’m Anne and am new to the forum.  I’ve picked up some vintage mechanical watches over the last 15 years ranging from the 1930’s to 1960’s, mostly ladies watches.  Some of the watches are non runners and I am keen to learn about watch repairing.  I’ve been looking on this forum for a while and everyone seems friendly, helpful and down to earth.  I’ve spent some time recently reading up and watching videos and have taken apart my first watch recently.  I look forward to getting to know everyone.  

• Like 1

Hello Anne and welcome to the forum,  and a Yorkshire lass to boot, lived in Tadcaster for 60 years before noving to the far north.    I have attached a couple of documents for you to have a look at I hope you find them useful     .  Whats your location, as a field engineer I traveled the County.

1612608791_ToolsfortheHobbyist (2) (1).pdf TZIllustratedGlossary.pdf

Anne, you are blessed and cursed at the same time. Blessed because the level of interest in ladies' watches is relatively low and there are bargains to be had. Cursed because everything is so tiny and much more challenging to work on. However, as a lass you will likely have a dexterity that most lads can only dream of. The standard advice applies. Start big and work your was down.

As Klassiker said  nimble fingers,  Most of the assemblers at the Timex factory in scotland were all women.     The wife is a Leeds Girl Woodhouse leeds 6.   a loooooong time ago.

Grab some pocket watches to practise on and get used to the mechanism, plenty of help here and post pictures along with any enquirey, makes our lives easier.