How to properly remove Second Wheel arbor extension

BrianB

I suspect that this is going to be a stupid, newbie question. I will endeavor to use proper terminology for things, but I'm new to all of this, so please do correct anything I say incorrectly as it helps me learn.

A friend knows I'm good with mechanical things and that I'm learning watch repair (via Mark's courses). He has a watch with an Asian clone of the ETA 2824-2 in it and the watch has never run reliably. When it's running it keeps good time, but it seems to stop whenever it wants, even if it's at a full wind.

After removing the non-display caseback I can see that the amplitude of the balance wheel is laughably low. I can actually see the ends of the back and forth arc. If I were going to guess I'd guess it's about 100 degrees. Anyway, my question isn't about the malady this old movement has - that's a project for another day.

For now what he did was buy a brand new Asian ETA 2824-2 and asked me if I could simply swap the movements. Observing the balance wheel action on the new movement it looks correct and the timegrapher says that it's at about +15 SPD which I'll regulate later.

The swap (my very first movement swap by the way) has gone OK thus far. Pull stem/crown, remove case screws/clamps, remove movement from case, remove hands, remove dial. So far so good.

While contemplating how I'm going to tackle moving the date wheel from the old movement to the new (they are a different color and style of printing) I noticed a difference in the arbors of the second wheels - at the point where the seconds hand attaches.