Swissmade

Valjoux 7750 adding the day function - foil required?

Question

Hi,

I am new to watch repair and have mainly been servicing simple eta movements for my own

I have always wanted a chronograph watch and have found a watch based on a valjoux 7750 with a broken case.

I want to put the movement into a new case but the dial is a day date and the movement is date only.

I have sourced all the parts and have fitted them to the movement to add the day function.

The donor watch didn't use a dial washer / foil, do I need to use one now I have added the day indicator?

If I do need a foil, what size and where from?

Thanks very much

Stuart

IMG_20191027_143917.jpg

IMG_20191027_150808.jpg

IMG_20191029_194719.jpg

15 answers to this question

From my experience yes you need it. I have neglected to put it in in the past thinking it was omit-able because it was so thin and flat. Apparently that extra bit of clearance is all that's needed for my day wheel to become dislodged and jam up in short order. I can't find any place where you would get one and the service manual don't even include it. But I guess you can use any generic washer that fits over the hour wheel arbor but not wide enough to peek out the day window and thickness of about a piece of A3 paper.

Edited by CaptCalvin

I have 3 different tech guides for the 7750 and not 1 has it included. I have added the day function to many 7750s and have never had an issue. The movements with the day function that ive worked on did not have it either.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk

11 hours ago, CaptCalvin said: