How to remove stem from this JLC

AP1875

50 minutes ago, AP1875 said:

One more question, any tips on position for the stem to be removed on this cal. 889?

I do this for a living, and I know the professional consensus is to generally remove the stem in the setting position, but I don't. I always do it in the winding position. The reasoning for the other way is there's less chance of bumping the sliding pinion out from under the yoke; I just do it carefully and wiggle and twist to be sure the square has gone in before really pushing anything.

Before you press. Rotate the movement so it's supported on all four corners. As it is now it will probably slip of when you press down. Been there done that as they say.  Very nice looking movement btw

Edited by rogart63

I do this for a living, and I know the professional consensus is to generally remove the stem in the setting position, but I don't. I always do it in the winding position. The reasoning for the other way is there's less chance of bumping the sliding pinion out from under the yoke; I just do it carefully and wiggle and twist to be sure the square has gone in before really pushing anything.

Thanks for your input. Nice to hear opinions from people working in the industry.

Just to double check do you mean your way in the winding position it is easier to prevent the sliding pinion moving from under the yoke? Ever since I started doing 7750 stem removals in the winding position I had no issues.

Is there anyway to get a tech sheet for these movements? I’ve tried to find it online and it’s nowhere to be found. What do you guys do if you can’t find it?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Before you press. Rotate the movement so it's supported on all four corners. As it is now it will probably slip of when you press down. Been there done that as they say.  Very nice looking movement btw

Noted thanks . I just lay it on top to take some pictures. It’s back in its case now.

• Like 1