Removing Condensation From Kenneth Cole Reaction

bacon1937

I'm relatively new to watch repair, but have recently acquired a box of old and modern watches to practice on so hopefully I'll be improving.

post-1434-0-29211300-1442004574_thumb.jp

This is actually a watch that I bought about 10 years ago, A while back condensation started building up in the face I believe this is due to a slight hairline crack/scratch in the face, although it could just be due to the seals going on it.

I have tried the methods of opening the stem/back and sitting it in a small jar with rice (carefully to make sure none got in the movement), this hasn't worked.

I have been attempting to figure out how to remove the movement and air the case out that way, I haven't been able to find information online for this particular model.

post-1434-0-95921900-1442004571_thumb.jppost-1434-0-87647000-1442004576_thumb.jppost-1434-0-98165400-1442004582_thumb.jppost-1434-0-07609200-1442004585_thumb.jp

I've successfully been able to remove the stem and back plate as mentioned, but the movement won't come out as there is a bezel/metal ring on the interior of the case between the face and where the back screws on.

If anyone has any ideas how I can do this I would be grateful.

post-1434-0-23051200-1442004580_thumb.jp

post-1434-0-60806500-1442004587_thumb.jp

post-1434-0-66263600-1442004589_thumb.jp

Welcome to the forum Bacon!

It looks very much like the movement comes out of the front. You will have to remove the bezel complete with crystal, by inserting a blade in the joint between the case and bezel. I usually start using a single sided razor or Stanley blade to make the gap wide enough to allow a case knife to be used to pry it off.

Please be very careful and not lacerated yourself in the process.