Pricing guidelines

Hello all,

I need some guidance, I'm thinking of offloading some of my watches that I have restored as my collection is getting a bit excessive....disapproving looks from Mrs W. 👺

What I would like to know is:

• How do you go about pricing your watches for sale, what is a reasonable price, bearing in mind the cost of the watch plus time and materials to refurbish it etc. I have looked at Chrono24, but these prices are all over the place and I think they are charging top end (or are they?). Any advice on a good way to gauge the price of my items would be greatly appreciated.
  • On a related matter what kind of warranty do you offer on any watches you sell or repair/service?
  • I'm thinking that further down the road I may take in watches to service, but I'm concerned about the risk of junking an expensive watch and being on the hook for replacement... how do you handle this?

Apologies for the naivety of these questions, but this is my first time going down this path.

I would eBay... but it is practically free to bring stuff into the UAE.... but crazy expensive to send stuff out, see example quote below for a 0.5kg 10x10x10 cm box from UAE to UK:

image.thumb.png.9c878400b0ebb93bca7ee1e40fdb0f6d.png

Note: AED 325 is about US$ 88.48 (£71.97).... no i didn't misplace the decimal point....

The local postal service is just as expensive, so I am restricted to selling locally.

First I'd like to second that "Yikes".  I know shipping has gotten expensive, but ... Yikes!

As for pricing ... "fair" is determined by the market so I'd do a little research on what watch models you intend to sell are going for all over the place. And then it comes down to marketing. Good pictures and a better description with some history if available. For example

"Here's an old fixed-up Seiko. It's yours for $15." vs. "A lovingly restored vintage heirloom timepiece from the classic era of Japanese mechanical craftmanship for only a $1,200.00 investment."