1937 Elgin Grade 315 Running Slow

My father-in-law handed me a 1937 Elgin Grade 315 pocket watch to fix that had belonged to his father.  I have it running again, but it is losing about 160 seconds per day, regardless of the position.  That's with it regulated to the faster limit.

I replaced the mainspring with NOS Elgin 2339.  Blued steel, not white alloy.  It is an S-shaped mainspring.  Old mainspring was essentially cemented in place with dried oil so I didn't want to reuse it.

It had a broken balance staff.  Caseback has a dent in it, so the watch took a good shock.  I was able to find a donor movement from the same manufacturing year and swapped out the balance wheel and hairspring.  I know that the ideal solution is to replace the balance staff, but I'm still pretty new to this.  I am looking for a staking set and will eventually tackle that repair.

I was able to get it back running with the donor balance.  Amplitude was about 270 deg and beat error 0.3 ms.

There are no timing washers on the balance wheel, that I can tell.  No meantime screws.  The hairspring is between the regulating pins.  I did not lubricate the pallet fork pivots and just a tad of Moebius 9415 on the face of the pallet jewels.

I took it back apart to reinspect and reclean it.  I found a chipped jewel for the seconds wheel on the mainplate.  Would this really be my culprit?  I would have thought that I would see some obvious positional error, especially in the dial down position.  Pivots look fine.  All other jewels look fine.

20230815_210845.jpg

20230815_210604.jpg

jewels.jpg

7 hours ago, gpraceman said:

balance wheel and hairspring

By swapping of the balance complete you do not know the history of that balance complete in other words what makes you think it's supposed to keep time? Versus the original one where the owner or somebody might've said yes it was fast or slow.

7 hours ago, gpraceman said: