Citizen Promaster 7817 movement battery replace

Hughie

I've seen nothing resembling this Eco Drive battery hold-down arrangement. Can't see any screw to slacken off to release the springy brass cover holding the battery in place. I thought that, having opened this monocoque diver's watch, removing the battery would be the easy part but life is complicated! This is my first attempt at a solar watch, completely new to this, and nothing on google has prepared me for this little shock. Photo below, full identification number is 7817-571525 TA.

(Sorry I tried to introduce myself as I'm new here but other than photo upload I couldn't get the hang of that either.)

Screen Shot 2023-08-24 at 3.14.12 PM.png

Screen Shot 2023-08-24 at 3.23.03 PM.png

Hi Hughie, welcome. I don't have a real answer, just a guess or two, but I can hang out until those who do know come by. I'm guessing you've gently tried everything that might be obvious?  For instance, pushing where it says push, or rotating the copper part off the battery?  

Where are you, geographically? Good luck, Ill be curious to see the answer.

Looks to me that the battery has a contact pad welded to it.  Most rechargeable batteries seem to have this format.  It looks as if the battery is tucked under the mainplate at the bottom of your pic and can maybe be released by easing the top out (nearer the coil) and sliding it out upwards.  The battery is probably a re-chargeable cell that come with the contact pad as a unit.

• Like 1

Thanks for comments, I'm in New Zealand, South Island, retired engineer with free time on hand so purchased some basic watch-mending tools and a couple of second-hand watches I liked the look of.

The replacement battery/capacitor is the standard MT920 for solar watches, according to Citizen, so that piece of brass I assume belongs to the watch and not part of the battery. I tried gently pushing the brass plate sideways, then upwards, maybe it just needs a little more force.