@ManSkirtBrew

I started brewing... 14 years ago maybe? with an extract kit my siblings got me for xmas one year. I like really dark beers, and the only kits I could find topped out with brown ale level SRM. Also, I'm not a huge drinker, and 5 gallons takes me FOREVER to get through. I pretty much lost interest. I moved to Colorado near dozens of really top notch breweries (helps when the water is so good!), and had a lot of fun exploring different styles, but really honing in on what I like (big, giant, thick stouts). It was really all grain or nothing, and my understanding of all grain at the time was that it took $$$ in equipment and lots of space, and I just didn't have that much interest.

During the pandemic, I discovered the brew in a bag method that had come up in the last decade or so. Much easier and lower investment for all grain, plus I can make much smaller batches much easier. I've made the same stout recipe over and over and over now in 1.5 gallon batches solely to fine tune my process. I'm getting mid-80% brewhouse efficiency, and with this last brew upped the grain bill by 50% as my first real deviation. My efficiency didn't drop, so assuming the beer itself tastes as good as I expect it to, the next batch will be 200%, and I'll keep going that way until I top out (not sure I want to do a double mash). Once I figure out my upper limit for extraction within a reasonable efficiency range, I'll start playing with other malts. 

It's been a ton of fun, WAY easier and cheaper than I thought it would be, and the beer has been far better than it should be. As objective as I can be, I can honestly say my very first round, mistakes and all, tasted better than all the other beers I had in the fridge, and it's only gotten better since!

• Like 1

It really is such a great and rewarding hobby, especially for tinkerers like us.