Newb

gpraceman

Hello All,

I am just getting started in this hobby.  I like checking out restoration type videos on YouTube and came across one on a watch restoration.  I was rather amazed at the process of disassembly, cleaning, reassembly, oiling, case restoration, and all and the beauty and complexity of the movements.  That piqued my interest.  I dug out my grandfather's Elgin automatic that had been sitting in my nightstand drawer for over 20 years and thought that it would be great to service that old watch (maybe from the 50's or 60's).  It still runs pretty well, but who knows if it has ever been serviced.  I put a new leather band on it (hate those stretchy metal bands).  Don't worry, I will not be using that as my first project.  I want to build up a lot of confidence before I tackle working on that family heirloom.

I have tools on order.  I found a watchmakers kit, from Cousins UK, that was recommended on the r/watchrepair Reddit, to get some basic starter tools and not break the bank.  However, I did buy some good tweezers (Dumont) and a screwdriver set (Bergeon).  I did not want to cheap out on those tools.  Some things I intend to 3D print (movement holders, barrel closer tool, etc.).