Vostok 2209 Mainspring barrel end shake

Hi,

As I am on a watchmaking learning journey, as a hobby, and started servicing an old Vostok 2209 movement, I tried assessing the mainspring barrel's end shake and side shake. It seems to me that there is too much movement (especially the end shake) and the pivot hole in the barrel bridge seems a bit oval (there is more movement in a certain direction than in others). I was thinking to attempt at fixing this with a staking tool, but what worries me is the construction of the pivot whole. As seen in the attached photos, the whole is flat on one side of the bridge, but has a "lip" on the other side and my concern is if the lip would be damaged when punching with the staking tool. It's my first attempt at such task, hence my call for advise from the forum members.

Cousins UK has the bridge in stock and that could be an option. Does the replacement bridge usually comes with the jewels or they have to be purchased separately and installed?

Made two short videos for showing the end and lateral shake.

Thank you in advance

IMG_3255.JPG

IMG_3256.JPG

Edited by utzelu

It seems I have the following options:

• Leave it as is - I got an average amplitude between 258 to 270 degrees in 6 positions, so it doesn't seem too bad. Also there doesn't seem to be any friction related marks on the bridge, just screwdriver marks probably from the previous "watchmaker"
  • Get a NOS bridge - Cousins UK has one in stock and I assume it doesn't have the jewels installed. I guess it's hard getting new jewels for this movement and using the ones from the current plate is a lot of work for me (i.e. never done it)
  • Close the pivot hole in the barrel bridge - although I don't have a staking set, I could buy individual domed shaped stakes and use my mini-milling machine as a staking tool. My main concern is that the raised "post" around the pivot hole (sorry, don't know the name) could get damaged in the process