Waltham pocket watch parts reference?

OUBob

Hello, 

Noob here, looking forward to getting into some dirty work. I have a Waltham model 1891, grade 60 0s movement I am in need of some parts for. I'm pretty sure buying an entire movement is the cheap/easy button, as I need hands, balance staff and an escape wheel. That kind of defeats the purpose of saving this one from the scrap heap though. I know hand and balance staff sizes can be generic, is there a reference to put in dimensions (particularly for the balance staff)? Any chance someone would have a parts list? Cas-ker, Ofrei etc. have not been definitive on IDing a part# or measurements.

Thanks,

Bob

1 hour ago, OUBob said:

Waltham model 1891, grade 60 0s movement

If you're going to work on American pocket watches you're going to need to make a library. All of the American watch companies or at least the big ones had parts catalogs. If you look on eBay people be selling DVDs of PDFs of the various Logs as they don't always show up in the wild for you to download. But sometimes you're lucky and find something to download

Then the problem with being slow to a response somebody  beat me to listing the link below if you had your serial number you can look up your watch and often times they have parts lists. If you explore the website they have parts catalogs but not a nice PDF form to download but at least you can look at it.

2 hours ago, OUBob said:

I know hand and balance staff sizes can be generic,

Then what exactly do you mean by generic? Especially related to the balance staff there usually really specific I didn't know we could do generic?