Regulating Raketa 2609 HA - what’s causing this?

Zendoc

Hello all and Happy New Year.

I’m new to this magic of wheels and would appreciate some advice so I can learn.

I’ve just finished servicing a Raketa Kopernic with 2609 HA movement and have found a big difference in rate, dependent on position. I don’t recall this being the case prior to the service.  I demagnetised the movement prior to regulation using my Elma Antimag.

The timegrapher shows nice steady traces and I can regulate the dial up position to +4s/d but here’s what else I find:

Dial Up: +4s/d,  amp 330,  0.0mS 

Dial down: -45s/d, amp 286, 0.0mS

Crown down: -42s/d, amp 289, 0.0mS

I can adjust to the following rates:

DU: +15s/d

DD: -20s/d

Crown Down: -11s/d

Which will average things out over those 3 positions, but my question is - what are the possible  causes of the big difference between the Dial up and Dial down rates?  What have I done or not done during the service which has caused this difference?

Any advice gratefully received.

Cheers,

John in Tasmania.

In general its worn/dirty balance pivot or jewels of cock/ mainplate or impulse also excessive balance pivot end shake. I check the end shake before taking anything apart.

I don't think you are dealing with hairspring intermitent sticking or any part rubbing.

Regs

• Like 2

Then it's always nice to show us a picture just because we like to see pictures.

11 hours ago, Zendoc said:

I don’t recall this being the case prior to the service.  

This is where I'd like to record the before servicing and after servicing numbers. It's nice to see a comparison and see if you've increase the amplitude improved the watch etc.

11 hours ago, Zendoc said:

Dial Up: +4s/d,  amp 330,  0.0mS 

Dial down: -45s/d, amp 286, 0.0mS

Crown down: -42s/d, amp 289, 0.0mS