I'm designing a plastic smartwatch. Is it possible to use ordinary watch pushers?

Hello all. I'm a mechanical engineer working on a smartwatch design for a startup. Any chance I could seek some advice from you folks in the watch repair community?

Specifically, I'm having trouble finding a good source of information for how to design a water-resistant button for our smartwatch. After doing some digging, I'm thinking that the best solution might be to design the smartwatch case so that I can install an ordinary chronograph pusher into it.

A few questions I have. If you can help me address any of these, I'd be quite grateful!

• Can pusher tubes be installed into a plastic watch case? The resources I can find all talk about installing pushers into metal watches.
  • If they can be installed into a plastic watch case, do press-fit type pushers work in plastic? How about screw-in? Or will either work in a plastic watch case?
  • Anything I should bear in mind for the assembly process? We're making relatively low quantities, so it's OK if the process is somewhat labor-intensive.
  • Any suggestions for pusher manufacturers that I might be able to reach out to?

Please forgive me if I'm using any terminology incorrectly, by the way. I'm a new arrival in the horology universe.

In case it's relevant, our minimum requirement is to achieve water resistance only down to 1 meter (an IP67 rating). If we can pull off 50 meters / 5 ATM without too much additional pain/cost though, that would be incredible.

Thanks for your time!

Edited by CarolinaBrunch