Staff not at 90 degree angle to balance wheel

JohnC

Hi all,

I am a novice, so please bear with me. I am trying to rehabilitate a Bulova 8AH that has been neglected for what looks like many years. When I got the watch, I noticed it would run in the dial up position, but stop when dial down.

After removing the movement, I saw that the cause of the stoppage was that in the dial down position, the bottom of the balance wheel was grazing the top of the pallet bridge. I suspected a bent balance staff pivot, although it was clearly not broken.

Having cleaned the movement and inspected the parts closely, it appears that the staff is not bent, but is seated in the wheel at an odd angle. If I look across the balance wheel rim with the wheel held horizontally, the angle between the staff and the wheel rim is not 90 degrees. The staff and the wheel are not "square," if that makes any sense.

I am wondering what could have caused this, and what you recommend. I'm not advanced enough to attempt a balance staff replacement, so it seems like the only option is a donor. 

Thanks for your thoughts.

John

The most likely scenario normally would be somebody replace the staff and didn't true the balance wheel the way they're supposed to make it run flat.

The first link lots of interesting stuff scroll down to the section labeled Joseph School of Watch Making. Section 2 covers truing balance wheels.

Then the second link because I always like to see a picture of whatever somebody's working on. J

Third link cross-references for your discontinued balance complete

https://mybulova.com/vintage-bulova-catalogs

http://www.ranfft.de/cgi-bin/bidfun-db.cgi?10&ranfft&0&2uswk&Bulova_8AH

http://cgi.julesborel.com/cgi-bin/matcgi2?ref=[^[D_F[

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1