Hello from Canberra, Australia.

Billa84

Good day Everyone :)

I'm a watch enthusiast and would like to learn about watch making (build/repair) as hobby, i'm absolute beginner and zero knowledge about watches.

I pick up my 1st mechanical watch 2 years ago, and it have grow on me over time.

And my recent purchased is a vintage 35mm seagull dress watch with green dial.

And with current lock down situation give me the opportunity to pursue a new hobby.

Hope I get to learn more from all the beautiful person on this forum :)

As a complete novice in watch making, what would be your advice where to start from?

I was thinking to pick up watch books probably a good starting point, any beginner books can be suggested? Preferably with pic info.

There aren't many online "short" lessons that being offered, I found this one https://www.timezonewatchschool.com/WatchSchool/.

Any advice will be appreciated.

Hello and welcome.

Did you take a look at Mark's courses? As good as anything you'll find online.

The first movement I completely stripped was a Seagull 2824 clone. In the process I broke the yoke for the keyless works, stripped the intermediate wheel and lost a spring and a screw. Luckily the parts are readily available and the practice was invaluable. I recommend you get yourself a couple of practice watches/movements, a decent set of screwdrivers, good tweezers, a 5X magnifier and a camera to photograph everything as you take it apart.

Reading is fine, but there's no substitute for hands-on.

• Like 1

10 hours ago, eccentric59 said:

a decent set of screwdrivers, good tweezers, a 5X magnifier and a camera to photograph everything as you take it apart.

when it comes to investing a tool set, i keep hearing the brand name Bergeon but they quite expensive although i understand the values that it bring. 

but is there any mid tier brand (not any Chinese rip off tool), that is affordable and still get the job done.