Hand clearance problem

Lc130

Hi All

I'm a beginner.  The second hand is just hitting the crystal in this AS 1916. The hands are straight.  I believe I'm using a high dome crystal.  That's what the label says, though I could have mixed it up with others.  The crystal in question is on the right and the dome appears higher than that of the Omega on the right.  The Omega has a second hand.  

IMG_4643.thumb.JPG.869fe112cb48550f366e86b385588486.JPG

Below you can see that the second hand is ridding high on the post.  Should it??

IMG_4672.thumb.JPG.e03b0367ce32dd6ba0bc2c84d8f69dfe.JPG

Though, clearance over the minute hand is minimal.  So, it appears the second hand would impact the minute hand if it were any lower.  

IMG_4671.thumb.JPG.d593a80ee8840343bc1faa1d931fecb5.JPG

Do I need a higher high dome or is something else wrong?

Thank you

Charlie

Edited by Lc130

1 hour ago, rodabod said:

What is the hour hand clearance from the dial like? And did you press it all the way down so that it was flush with the top of the hour wheel?

I reseated all the hands.  Same problem. 

The hour and minute hands are flush with the top of their posts.  The second had still sits very high.  The crystal was off the watch when I got it.  Could the second hand be wrong?

Very  often  second hands are bent down  towards  the end in order  to clear the crystal. Do you think you could  put a slight bend on the end of your second  hand that would allow it to clear  the minute hand and crystal? If not..you might want to think about s higher dome or shorter second  hand.

Edited by yankeedog
  • Like 1

If it were mine, judging by what you’ve described, I’d press the seconds hand down a little further. If the tip-end of the seconds hand starts to touch the minute hand then adjust it gently in situ. 

It looks like a high-dome crystal and I wouldn’t expect you to need a taller one. 

There's very little clearance between the minute and second hand for a down bend.