winding stem - Cal 503 Longines Admiral

Dear all,

good afternoon from Paris! Hope you are all fine and busy...

I am new in repairing watch as hobby... I got recently a nice Cal 503 from Longines on ebay and found as well a splendid monoblock case... Great! 

I spent already time on various forums to understand specificities of this model and I still have a question regarding the winding stem. I understood that most of the time, it shall be a splitted one to be able to remove the movement from the case, after removal of the glass.

I am attaching the stem that was provided with the movement but I really wonder if it is the good one, able to split in two.

Does anyone have faced this this issue and would be kind enough to share his experience with me?

Thks in advance and stay safe!

Fred

IMG_1689.jpg

Welcome to this forum Fredchen, must have missed you in the introduce you self section ;)

Well you can't use that stem in a monoblock, it uses a totaly different one, I have an example of it from a different movement (Longines 284) but you get a understanding of the split stem.

To get it out from the case you have to split it, this is done by gently pulling the stem outwards.
The construction of the stem makes this possible.Longines.thumb.jpg.9e9bf785f568afded3b7c311725d70ed.jpg

on this one you have a male part on the crown.
Longines_Male.thumb.jpg.ca9893e0ba06aee467d4958820e8ea10.jpg

and on the movement side a female part.
Longines_Female.thumb.jpg.08df56331d3089a77a5422d10d092565.jpg

So now you see why you have to buy a new stem for you monoblock, you might be able to keep your crown depending of how the tube in the case looks like.

Edited by HSL
  • Thanks 1

If the case says, "Use All Proof 1200 Wrench" or something along those lines, on the back, it's unlikely that the stem shown is the right one. If you check online for "Bestfit 360" stems, you'll see what the crown side should look like.