Video - The Human Side Of Watchmaking

I tried that but carrying a conversation with myself always ends in a fight! :)

Seriously now, the use of the tweezers and the proper way to turn them while holding the parts...that's what really got me. One way NOT to drop any more bits!

Cheers,

Bob

Thanks for the link - what a great documentary.

It really shows that the "jobs" are really labours of love, and that a prerequisite is more than a touch of OCD (or, as a friend says, CDO: that is OCD but in alphabetical order AS IT SHOULD BE...!)

The whole mindset of being EXACT is not dissimilar to the mindset we need in my line of work. I'm a Thoracic and Vascular surgeon, and operating on the arteries supplying somebody's brain, under a microscope at 45x, can be frustrating to someone who is not of the calm, relaxed, and precise mindset. We weed out those trainees who don't quite have "it" - they often go on to become orthopaedic surgeons! ;)

I'm just starting out messing about with watches, and although I find it engrossing to watch, for example, one of Mark's videos showing how to strip down, clean, then rebuild a movement, the thing that keeps coming to mind is that all those components that he is so lovingly putting together so precisely all have to be made. Somebody, somewhere, has actually created the tiny pieces, balanced the balance wheels, made the hairsprings, engineered the gears and cogs, the palet "teeth" and shaped all the jewels. All before Mark can assemble them. They all have to be created to within a micron or two, as pointed out in the film. And THAT is even more amazing than being able to take a movement apart and put it together again, to me.