My First Breakdown !

I finally found a watch to practice on. It is a old watch that does not work that I found at work when we were cleaning up at our new shop. I have taken it apart and put it back together several times, and could not figure out why it was not working. So thanks to Mark, who was telling me what set up he uses for filming videos, I got the idea to look for something similar and found a microscope that hooks up to your computer. And because of this I was able to find out what I think might be the problem. Below is some pictures of what kind of watch it is and the last photo is where I think the problem might be. On the last photo which is the one of the problem, the top hole is the hole the escape wheel shaft goes into and the bottom hole is one of the holes for the trans gear. I think I am calling these correct but I am still learning. :)

post-331-0-15883400-1412736045_thumb.jpg

post-331-0-14767400-1412736055_thumb.jpg

post-331-0-80367400-1412736070_thumb.jpg

post-331-0-87405200-1412736080_thumb.jpg

Hi Daniel,

Those are wonderful pictures. I'm, in fact, not used to such close up view and not familiar with the movement since I'm also relatively new to watchmaking. Sorry my expertise is not up there yet.

Although I enjoy the detail -- pics are gorgeous --  I can't really find my way to what it is pointing at in relation to the whole. Are we looking at a piece of pivot broken inside its socket? If so, it would be necesary to peg it out. Then make sure the wheel that goes there has complete pivots and in the event of the contrary, replace it. In any case, it would be interesting to know if once fixed, the problem is solved!

Thank you for posting it.

Edited by bobm12