Cronel Pin Pallet watch

I stumbled across a NOS Cronel 'digital' pin pallet watch the other day and couldn't resist it.

I knew it was a cheap and nasty watch but I was hooked by the pure gimick of it and I had been wanting to get a jump watch for some time, although this isn't really a jump watch as the hour doesn't jump, it just rotates slowly over.

I've never worked on a pin pallet watch before so my question is what sort of oil should I use on the pin pallet?

I'm assuming just a tiny amount on one pin and let it work its own way around the escape wheel.

Should I use 9415 like I would on a leaver escapement, or just 9010?

The watch is actually in very good condition, just the oil is all gummed up as I don't think it has ever been used.

cronel1.jpg

cronel2.jpg

I stumbled across a NOS Cronel 'digital' pin pallet watch the other day and couldn't resist it.

I knew it was a cheap and nasty watch but I was hooked by the pure gimick of it and I had been wanting to get a jump watch for some time, although this isn't really a jump watch as the hour doesn't jump, it just rotates slowly over.

I've never worked on a pin pallet watch before so my question is what sort of oil should I use on the pin pallet?

I'm assuming just a tiny amount on one pin and let it work its own way around the escape wheel.

Should I use 9415 like I would on a leaver escapement, or just 9010?

The watch is actually in very good condition, just the oil is all gummed up as I don't think it has ever been used.

cronel1.jpg

cronel2.jpg

Hey there. Nice watch....This is one of the faster beat pin pallets, and I use 9415.

JC

• Like 1

Thanks, that was my guess, but wanted someone to confirm it.

Its currently running very erratically, but I'm pretty sure that is just due to gummed up oil so a good clean and oil should fix it.

Thanks, that was my guess, but wanted someone to confirm it.