TISSOT Le Locle

Krish

I have a Tissot Le Locle automatic watch, which worked for just over the guarantee period of two years. I put it away fro about 5 years, but now I am keen to get it working. The rotor ( the item that rotates inside the watch) does not appear to move freely. I can see it via the transparent part of the rear case. I doubt that the bearings should be worn just after two years. I tried winding up the crown with it in the fully in position. If I hold it my ear while winding the crown, I hear a feint scrapping noise. I am not certain if this is normal. I tried moving the watch vigorously to "power" it but it is still stone dead. The nearest agent is about 800km away and I am a bit nervous about sending it there. I am an electronics engineer, is there anything simple I should try before sending it away. This watch has never been opened or went under water. I will appreciate any assistance in this regard.

Please Krish, post a picture of the movement and try to get its number so we can help better. Thank you in advance.

Otherwise, whatever we say could work...or not...beware when it doesn't! :)

Cheers,

Bob

PS. Tissot has some "in house" movements that use some plastic (or a lot) and if they break then...well, scrapping sounds and more is the result...but it could also happen with regular metal parts...Oh, I don't know! My take is the winding mechanism is busted somewhere! We need to take the watch apart! :thumbsu:  YES!!!

3 minutes ago, bobm12 said:

Excellent, we got our first imput! Thank "TheFixer"! So, the reverse wheels and/or the ratchet wheel may be an issue but it's got to be opened to really assess what is going on!

Cheers,

Bob

Sounds like a plan:)

Those case backs are tight to get off so be careful.

Jon

Hello Bob, Thanks "The Fixer". It seems worth repairing, but if it could be whats suggested, perhaps I should get an expert to look at it.

It might be beyond my capabilities, though I do work with micro electronics.