Cap Jewels

I'm fairly new to watch repair and have been going slowly.I have been practicing on several pocket watches. I have taken them apart and put them  back together with only a few accidents. Next I want to look at taking the cap jewels out and clean them. Since they are very small and can be large in number, how do you track where they go. Can you just clean them all together, then put them back without knowing the actual pivot they came from, or do you have to keep track of each one. If you track each one, how do you do that efficiently.

Hold yer horses Greg, do not try and remove all the jewels. The only jewels that are removed for cleaning are the balance jewels with shock resist systems on wrist watches. On pocket watches these are usually fixed and not usually removed for cleaning.

You will need a jeweling tool to remove and replace pressed in jewels. It's a very bad idea to remove an old jewel and fit it again, you will probably end up with a slack if not broken jewel, not only that, the depth is critical to ensure the correct end shake on the pinions.

I'm fairly new to watch repair and have been going slowly.I have been practicing on several pocket watches. I have taken them apart and put them  back together with only a few accidents. Next I want to look at taking the cap jewels out and clean them. Since they are very small and can be large in number, how do you track where they go. Can you just clean them all together, then put them back without knowing the actual pivot they came from, or do you have to keep track of each one. If you track each one, how do you do that efficiently.

The best way to remove a cap jewel without it going amiss is remove it with Rodico.