Do I need a staking set?

So I'm a newbie, 90% through my first disassembly of an ST36 (can't get the barrel lid off but that'll be my next thread 🙂  )

As I acquire basic tools I also try and read as much as I can and have become aware that this is not only a learning hobby but can be an expensive one.  Microscopes, winding sets, cleaning machines, lathes, etc etc, and staking sets.

I've pretty much resisted all of the above until I cut my teeth and decide if I'm in the game long term.  As I progress I think I'll be all in and one of the things I think I'll need eventually is a staking set.  I know there are options and that the new sets are over $1K (less for a Chinese brand, but I'd prefer the Swiss stuff if I can afford it).  It seems like K&D is a fine option and I've been on the Ebay watch list for a while and see sets go from $200 to $600 or higher.

So my questions are:

1. If I persist in this fascinating hobby, will I eventually need a staking set?

2. What are the main things you use it for?  I know they are sort of a rivet/de-rivet device and are use for balance staff removal and hole opening/closing duties, probably a lot more.  I mean with the full-bodied 18R that has 120 stakes and about 20 or so other accessories, there has to be more, right?

3. If I decided to go new, are their still Swiss companies that make them?

It sort of looks like a tool that you mostly don't need and it sits, but when you need it, you need it.

Anyway, just wondering what you'all think,

Thanks.

I think you’re on the right train of thought, you don’t need one till you need one. If you’re working on recent movements that are not very old then it is probably last on your list. From what I have learnt here and elsewhere the K&D vintage sets are the best overall, I’m sure folks will pipe in with their ideas too, hopefully. Don’t get hung up on it right now, you will know when. Unless you’re like a lot of us, we seem to be tool junkies then watch junkies 😂

Tom

• Like 4