Good afternoon all,

I have a Seamaster 120 that I am rebuilding and have been using the ETA 2892A2 technical document for data, however, I have come across the actual Omega technical document and when I checked the lift angles, there appears to be a difference. Omega have the lift angle as 53º, ETA as 51º.

Many places on the web also state the lift angle as 51º, so I wondered if anyone here could state definitively what the figure should be, as 2º lift angle delta would potentially have a significant impact on the amplitude reading.

Thanks in advance

I do not know the answer, but my analysis indicates that the derivative of Amplitude (A) with respect to lift angle (LA) is approximately A/LA. so with a nominal amplitude of 260 degrees at a nominal lift angle of 52 degrees, the derivative is 5.  Therefore, for every degree variance of LA, you would expect an amplitude change of 5 degrees. 

So your range of possible lift angles yield a range of amplitudes of only 10 degrees (260 +/- 5). I would not call that significant.

I measure amplitude using my smart phone in super slow motion video.

17 hours ago, ClusterFoxtrot said:

Omega have the lift angle as 53º, ETA as 51º.

always fun when a variety of sources even from the same manufacturer don't seem to agree? The Omega document I have on timing specifications for the 1120a is 51°. Then for the eta I also see it's 51°. just as I was curious I went too much newer version of Omega it's still 51°.

• 1 month later...
On 7/17/2023 at 9:52 AM, ClusterFoxtrot said:

if anyone here could state definitively what the figure should be, as 2º lift angle delta would potentially have a significant impact on the amplitude reading.

I really doubt that 2° make that much of a difference but if it does You should watch this video he explains how to figure out the lift angle for yourself and then you'll know exactly what it is for your watch.

On 8/31/2023 at 12:10 PM, ClusterFoxtrot said: