While I am waiting for a part for my first project (a new Seagull ST3600 that I broke the stem by fumbling the movement onto the workbench), I decided to take apart a vintage watch that I got off of eBay for cheap.  It is a Mido 816 (AS 1081) and the only non-runner of the group.  I was able to confirm that the upper pivot on the pallet fork is broken.  I found a parts list showing the pallet fork and pallet staff as two separate parts.  As I'm a newb, I'm not so sure that I want to tackle installing a new staff on a pallet fork, even if I had the proper tool.  So, I need to find a complete pallet fork to swap in.  Do I just have to find a donor movement or can I find a complete pallet fork somewhere?

S20230313_0004.jpg

watches.jpg

watches3.jpg

2963_Mido 816.pdf

It’s all part of the learning curve 🙂

The best bet would be to find a donor if you really want to fix it. That movement is pretty common for a watch of that age so finding parts won’t be imposIble. If I was you though, I would chalk this down to experience, reassemble what you have taken apart so far (you can always clean it first), put it in a container and label it and then keep it for spares. One day you’ll come across another watch with a broken balance or missing a part and you’ll have the spares right there.  

Keeping the watch assembled helps preserver the parts. don’t be tempted to have boxes for springs / wheels/ forks / balances etc because a) they will get damaged and b) you’ll never find what you’re looking for. 

• Like 2

3 minutes ago, ScrewDropper said:

It’s all part of the learning curve 🙂