Follow-on question for my mainspring install

Sorry if this is repetitive, but I want to be sure I don't mess up this mainspring install since it's my first time. I posted a photo to be clear what I'm doing. I have the new mainspring in the container. Do I cut the seal from the bottom with the cardboard, or the top with the plastic? Which is easier? I take it the red object surrounding the spring is the washer holding the mainspring in place. How firmly in place is the mainspring? What's the tiny piece of cardboard inside the container? My understanding is that this is a clockwise wind. I read that it's best to use the end of tweezers to position the mainspring when inserting. How hard do I press? Do I pull up on the red washer with my finger or use a tool? Is there a video? The old mainspring is shown bottom right. I ruined it, but that's another story. Thanks.

mainspring new.jpg

• Like 1

Cut the cardboard side enough to take out the M/S. The plastic retainer has a good grip on the spring,..just be careful not to get finger oils and debris on the spring. If the spring is coiled enough, you should be able to simply lay it over the barrel, and use the back of your tweezers to push it into place. Be careful and go slowly, insuring that the entire outside edge of the spring is within the barrel walls. Hold the red retainer with your other hand to keep it snug against the barrel. It also helps ( a lot ), to try and fit the bridle just ahead of the barrel hook, so that it indexes correctly from the start. Otherwise you end up pushing it around to line it up. I make sure I have an even amount of lube around the barrel wall. Makes adjustments much easier.

Randy

9 hours ago, Randy55 said:

plastic retainer