The watch bug bit me (help with a 1197)

Dear Watch Repair Community,

Crazydiamond282 here from Boston, MA. I haven't ever fixed anything in my life before, and I'm crazy about watches. So, this seems to be a good hobby for a total beginner.

So, the vintage watch bug bit me recently, and following common-sense advice, I purchased a non-working handwind watch for $5. This watch was not winding or ticking in any way, although I could set the time.

When I opened the watch, even as an absolute beginner, I could tell that the balance was broken. I found two videos on Youtube that serviced this type of movement (1197), but both were in languages I do not comprehend. I only possess a screw-driver set and some loupes (no oils or watch-cleaning machines), and my only wish from this first experiment is to get something moving (like in this moment from the video servicing the 1197 movement: https://www.youtube.com/clip/UgkxcL54l3RwsLsn25clQhQMUso2gsJd8rcP). I haven't succeeded in it so far.

I inspected the mainspring barrel and the mainspring was not broken. I was (somehow) able to wind it back together and put it back inside. I removed some gears from the gear-train but, with just the mainspring and center-gear, nothing moves (although I believe I am able to wind it).

Here are some photos of front and back : https://imgur.com/a/7BPErKt

Just by eye-balling, could you give me some debugging advice?

WhatsApp Image 2022-05-05 at 7.05.29 PM.jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2022-05-05 at 7.05.28 PM.jpeg

Edited by crazydiamond282
Added images, introduced myself

30 minutes ago, crazydiamond282 said:

I haven't ever fixed anything in my life before, and I'm crazy about watches. So, this seems to be a good hobby for a total beginner.

Hello CD. Haha. Have you any idea what you are letting yourself in for ? Seriously mate, it's fantastic and I love it.