Mainspring blues

First off, I am new to watch repair and servicing. I'm loving it and normally take setbacks in stride because I'm just learning. But sometimes my mistakes start to get expensive and get me down. This is one of those days.

I'm repairing two pocket watches for my father. Both of them had mainsprings in good condition, so a couple weeks ago I attempted to use a mainspring winder. This was my first attempt, and I mangled both. My biggest issue was trying to get the tongue end into the barrel of the winder. I just couldn't get it to tuck in.

Fast forward a couple of weeks. Using the existing mainsprings and a mainspring calculator I found online, I ordered and received new mainsprings from ofrei.com. The calculations want you to aim for taking up about 50% of the space between the mainspring barrel arbor and the inner wall of the barrel, right? The mainsprings I had taken out calculated out to around 62%, so I split the difference and ordered mainsprings around 55-57%.

My experience so far led me to expect to just pop the new mainsprings into the barrels. But these new mainsprings in the package were not wound tightly enough to fit into the barrels. It was close, but the outermost coil or two was on or outside the wall of the barrel when I set them on top.

So I simply unwound them and got out my winders. By now I had practiced a little, and was a better at using my winders. However, I ran into another issue. I can't get the holes of the mainsprings to catch on the notch of the mainspring winder arbor. One of them would catch and let me wind it about halfway, but then it would slip out and wouldn't catch again. The other one just wouldn't catch at all. It is like the innermost coil isn't tight enough so it just goes right on around the winder arbor without catching. Out of desperation I actually tried to bend the inner coil a little tighter and ended up just snapping it off.