Vintage Matile Lower Jewel Loose

ken

Hello I'm new to fixing watches, so I post here first in hope of not making mistakes,

I have an older Matile poket watch. The balance is moving around but the pivots look ok (there long ones) but the lower jewel is floating around, it's running upside down, so I'm letting the spring run down, short of removing the dial and looking at why it's loose any suggestions what may have happened, I posted some photos and a short video on my face wall

Hi Ken, welcome to the forum!

Looks like the dial side jewel assembly has come adrift but I would not rule out a broken balance pinion as it is very unlikely for the balance jewels to come off, especially on an older pocket watch without shock absorber as the cap jewels are screwed in. On newer watches with shock absorber the spring can break and this will lead to the jewels moving.

Only way to check is to remove the dial.

BTW you can release the power from the mainspring by releasing the click and releasing the power gradually by means of the crown or a screwdriver on the ratch-wheel.

In fact you should do this even when the watch has run down as there may be residual power left in the spring.

Anil

Welcome to the forum Anilv. Pocket watch parts are not easy to source & most try to find another donor movement and swap parts to make one good one.

It,s a good idea to post your pics to your posts as we can then all have a good look to see whats wrong etc. Normally there is a member of this forum that will have the answer.

Welcome to the forum Ken, you will find this a friendly place where you can get good advice and the odd bit of leg pulling! That's good advice from Anil, and I too recommend you look very carefully with a loupe for a broken pinion.

Now for the leg pulling!

Clockboy I assume you meant to welcome Ken to the forum, or did you not welcome Anil last year? ;)