Mesmorised

Hi everyone, I would like to thank Mark for the warm welcome and Darren who intoduced me to this very educational site. I am new to watches, that is I have worn one but never understood the mechanics. I have recently retired from the Quarrying industry, mobile plant repair and maintenance, so I have stripped, repaired and maintained engines, transmissions etc but watching Mark strip the rolex for servicing was truly mesmorising. I have yet to watch the next video.(Game of thrones will have to take a back seat) I have bought a few nice working antique pocket watches, Omega, Waltham, Longines, Roamer and a 1955 Smiths empire in a miners pocket case ( I remember seeing the blasting team at work in the 60's with very similar types of watch) and also a Lacorda 15 that isn't working. Will enjoy watching the videos and possibly get some tips from other members. My wrist watch is a Rotary, nothing special. Best regards. Gareth

Thanks Will, I am very impressed with your site and you have a fantastic collection. The website is a credit to you. I haven't opened up all your watches for info but looked at the Lord Elgin Clubman, what does Grade 680 mean? The Roamer popular looks a nice watch, I have ordered a Roamer pocket watch, hope to get it soon. Have you also a collection of pocket watches?

Welcome Gareth,

this is a nice forum where you will find lots of helpful people in your watch repair journey. If I may, I recommend to start with a simple mechanical movement and if possible something that already works so you know if you are doing the right thing. That is, you check before you start and check again after you finish and see if the watch is at least the same! Popular movements are ETA 6498, ETA 6497, ETA 2801 and family and some FHF like the 96 or 196 I guess. Don't try smaller than ligne 11 1/2 for starters since they become too small and may not be ideal during your learning curve...which includes handling of the parts with tweezers and the rest.

Cheers,