Pocket watch hole jewels - remove for cleaning?

I'm working on this Elgin grade 477 pocket watch. I've seen some folks on youtube that when they clean these, they first remove the cap jewels and then push out the hole jewels. Is it necessary to remove the hole jewels? One of the comments said that they removed them as they didn't want them to come out in the cleaning machine as they are not interchangeable and didn't want to mix them up. It seems to me that a friction fit jewel wouldn't be able to come out in the cleaning machine but I've never worked on a pocket watch before so was wondering if it is really necessary to remove the hole jewels before cleaning.

SSP_10.jpg

Firstly, everything you see on YouTube isn't the truth! And recommending removing these jewels prior to cleaning is a crock of.......

Don't remove the jewels, as it is far from necessary and I would be really surprised if the screws holding them in place came loose or even if they came out of the bridge or mainplate.

Just peg the jewels clean and maybe pre-clean the movement prior to putting it through your cleaning machine, if you are using one

• Like 2

Jon, I guess OP means the balance jewel settings.

Yes, they need to be removed, at least the cap stones settings, but it is easier to remove the both cap and hole settings together by pressing them from inside. !!! Never press the jewejs, only the metal 'bushes' they are setted in!!!

33 minutes ago, Jon said:

Firstly, everything you see on YouTube isn't the truth! And recommending removing these jewels prior to cleaning is a crock of.......

Don't remove the jewels, as it is far from necessary and I would be really surprised if the screws holding them in place came loose or even if they came out of the bridge or mainplate.

Just peg the jewels clean and maybe pre-clean the movement prior to putting it through your cleaning machine, if you are using one