I won this box as part of an auction of a watchmaker’s tools. I’m new to watches so I don’t know if this is normal. I have a strong desire to sort them. I am probably also slightly OCD.

What does this mean?

First picture is the box. It is about 4” x 6” x 1”

Second picture is a close up of the surface.

Third photo is a random draw from the box.

IMG_4169.jpeg

IMG_4170.jpeg

IMG_4171.jpeg

7 hours ago, FlameOfWrath said:

I won this box as part of an auction of a watchmaker’s tools. I’m new to watches so I don’t know if this is normal. I have a strong desire to sort them. I am probably also slightly OCD.

What does this mean?

First picture is the box. It is about 4” x 6” x 1”

Second picture is a close up of the surface.

Third photo is a random draw from the box.

IMG_4169.jpeg

IMG_4170.jpeg

IMG_4171.jpeg

Oh wow, the first box is my ocd dream ❤  i will buy them from you 😅.  No i dont think they are broken. The second picture of the half a dozen look like blanks ready to be turned. If you have Nos brand and caliber staffs in there good luck identifying them . The best known site for doing that has just shut down for some reason  😪

5 hours ago, RichardHarris123 said:

worthless.

This is watch repair and I'm having problems with the word worthless not sure why?

I was thinking about it we need more information

5 hours ago, RichardHarris123 said:

Balance staff's can be repivoted but it may not be worth it, if not recyle them.

Typically for re-pivot in the balance staff would still be attached to the balance wheel. Typically when balance staff is removed its damaged and cannot be reused.  

5 hours ago, FlameOfWrath said:

There are a lot in there. Some of them seem to have pivots on both ends.

I think we need a better assessment of what you have.