Hello to you all out there

Hi there everyone. Hope you are all doing well where ever you may be.

So a little bit about myself. I've been recently inspired to take up watch repairing for a hobby. To be honest... I don't know why it has taken me so long to get around to this. I blame all the (very good I might say) watch repair videos on Youtube I've been watching during lockdown that have given me the encouragement to give it a try. I have also just started Mark's Watchfix Video course, and am eagerly awaiting my tools and Seagull 3620 movement to arrive in the mail so I can get started 🙂

I have no practical experience with any kind of watch repairs at all... Changing some straps and cutting my finger open to change a battery years and years ago on a poorly designed cheap ebay watch, is about as much as I can lay claim to having tinkered with watches haha.

That being said however I do have a penchant for digital watchface design and have been doing programming and design for my smartwatch over the last few years (though seriously smartwatches are a can of worms and until they get them lasting on a once-a-month battery at the minimum they really are a lousy replacement for a good traditional wristwatch in my opinion). It would be nice to perhaps see which of my designs could be articulated over to a real watch instead of a smartwatch display in the future.

Anyhow, I digress. I do have a nice albeit small collection of different watches and pocket watches. Most are very old (relative term of course). I have a soft spot for Seiko's (I blame Roger Moore's James Bond and my father for that lol). Seiko watches also make the bulk of my collection.