Watch Will Not Wind Properly

Hello fellow watch enthusiasts. I am fairly new to the delights of mechanical watches.I have a wrist watch which won't wind correctly. I am keen to learn how to repair watches but realise i have so much to learn. With this watch when i try to wind it the hands go round even when the winding stem is not pulled out so something is presumably not engaging correctly.It does wind up at the same time but feels a bit stiff and this is obviousl not satisfactory. Can anyone advise what is wrong and what i should do please? Will i need to open the watch and take the winding mechanism apart. I have slightly undone the tiny screw to remove the winding stem and then replaced it but it still makes no difference. Please advise. Thanks, BRIAN.

Welcome to the forum Brian.

Regarding the problem that you are experiencing with your watch, I suggest that you give a bit more information, IE did it just go faulty with normal use, did you feel anything snap at any time, were you tinkering with it before the fault developed, and if so what were you doing, and post some pictures of the inside to give forum members a chance to give you good advice.

I bought the watch recently on ebay but the hour hand came off and was lying on the dial. Its an old record company wristwatch and i thought i would have to remove the winding stem to take the whole movement out to get to the dial. But having done that i realised i think i would have to take off front of watch which i did to put hand back on. Having done that then i had the problem with the winder. Not too sure as i am very new to watch repairs. A bit wary of trying to take off the dial to get to winding mechanism but presumably i will need to. Also new to these forums and technology so don't know how to post photos at present but will try in due course. Cheers. Brian.