How to install second hands

Newbie here but my wife bought me a DYI watch kit and I'm stuck at the steps to attach the hands, first time I've done it.  The hour and minute hands took a little practice but I got them within 15 minutes.  But I probably spent two hours on the second hand and gave up to write this post.  I was using the microscope I bought recently and it was definitely helpful but for the life of me I cannot line up the hand properly to push onto the post.

I tried using a push tool and tweezers but no luck.  I tried working in a high bench configuration (actually a low stool) but that didn't work out and I had to work so close to the edge of the bench that I popped the hand onto the floor.

The closest I got was under the scope with the tip of the second hand in rodico to line it up while I try to push the hand onto the post.  Sigh.  One thing that the instructions did say re: the 2nd hand is to "gently tap the end with tweezers to fasten it in place." 

Anyway, sorry about the long-winded story.  I'll go search out videos of people actually succeeding, but if anybody has any tips or a link to a good video I'd appreciate it.

Some seconds hands can be tricky, the tube on the hand can be misshapen or sometimes have a little paint in them from the paint used to colour the hand, this reduction in internal diameter can make them a very tight fit. You did the right thing in walking away, trying to force it may damage the hand or worst case the pivot onto which the hand fits, then you have a much larger issue. If you suspect what I am saying is correct you have 2 options:

1. Use a different seconds hand
  2. Use a broach (like the ones below) to open it up slightly (in baby steps!)

image.thumb.png.9153c0fec2ea783c3656b4fc5b05f739.png

Let us know how you get on - pictures are a big help too (hint)

• Like 2