What am I looking at?

Hi Guys,

I picked up this watch for cheap to hot-rod it for myself, figuring I'd replace the dial with something more vibrant, then found another one in better shape but with the same dial staining problem and want to understand what's going on with these guys?  Without knowing much about watches (I'm a newbie and in learning mode) it looks to be saturated with something.......maybe someone over oiled it and it seeped thru to the dial??  Doesn't appear uniform enough to be UV exposure.....but I don't know.  But I figured someone on here has seen this phenomenon before and can explain what it is.  I'd also love to know if there's any way to reverse this and restore the dial (economically).  I expect not, but it never hurts to ask.  Looking forward to your comments.  

thanks,

bob

DSC06014 (2).JPG

Hi welcome to the forum. Stained dials can be caused by a multitude of things, the most common is water ingress/condensation best to open it up and have a look at the keyless work for any signs of rust. There is of course the natural ageing of the dial paint due to reaction with sunlight or chemical reaction over time with the base metal and the dial paint. As long as the movement is intact and serviceable you will be able to mod it no problem.     Cheers

Hi Guys,

Thanks.  Yeah, I understand patina, as I've restored many many things over the years.  Technically patina is a natural aging.......what I have here is really 'damage' rather than patina, but I realize I'm splitting hairs.  And I get that the watch community considers anything that has happened to a watch dial since it was first made to be 'patina', as silly as that might be.  I'm just glad the last guy who sold me a nice expensive watch for cheap considered it 'broken' because an index fell off.......and not 'patina' or he would have wanted big bucks!!!  So 'patina' it is........cuz as they say.........when in Rome............