Help Me! Beginner Here

To all whom may be able to help!

I am a beginner watch repairer, but I have hit a snag straight away! I am having real difficulty getting into screw watch backs basically.

I have the right tools, I'm not sure of the name so I will call it...a three prong watch back removal wrench...sounds right to me. I'm lining the sucker up, using the best fitting pegs and applying the best pressure plus anti clockwise movement I can but getting absolutely no where.

It literally just does not want to budge, I've scratched the back already :( I do have a watch back removal ball on the way but essentially I was wondering if I was missing some essential piece of advice in regards to using the aforementioned wrench.

Any advice would be much, much appreciated!

Welcome to the forum George, from George. :)

As you have found, some screw backs can be so tight you would think they had been welded on. The tool that you are using is fine for the majority of backs, but occasionally you come across one like yours. Before I purchased a heavy duty bench mounted back opener, I would take the strap off and hold the watch very carefully in a vice fitted with soft faced jaws. The lugs of the watch would dig into the soft jaw and give a really tight grip. I would then be able to press down really hard on the tool while unscrewing the back.

Read this thread:-

http://www.watchrepairtalk.com/topic/700-stuckwatch-back/?hl=glue

Edited by Geo

Hi George and thank you for getting back to me!

Yes I swear to the Almighty it feels like the back has been welded on! I do have a watch vice coming and I am going to purchase a table vice soon so hopefully I can use these to good effect! I was just wondering if there was anything I was missing thats all, such as offering it a sacrifice!

What sort of experience do you (and others) have with using the removal balls? Are they actually any good?