Junghans ato-mat wall clock repair

RealRedHair

Hello,

Bought a nice Junghans ato-mat s electronic - W726a clock. Unfortunately it does not work so I will have to repair it. Fresh battery is in. When I start the clock by moving the left lever it turns several times and stops. If I place the battery in it turns a bit longer but will also stop. So my quick conclusion is that the electronic is fine but the whole maybe needs some oil to reduce friction. 

What are your ideas and what can I check how? All advice is welcome!

Thanks

Screenshot 2023-12-19 at 21.36.46.png

Screenshot 2023-12-19 at 21.44.01.png

I'm working on one of these at the moment. Yours appears to be the exact same version as mine. There are a few variants depending on when they were made.

At the start I must emphasize that I am NOT experienced at all in clock repair. Electronics is my area of expertise so I'll just tell you what I found with mine. 

Initially, before trying to get into the mechanism, I made some electrical measurements (using an oscilloscope etc) on the current consumed while running and learned a fair bit from that (like whether the balance is operating with adequate amplitude.). My movement ran, but timekeeping was erratic and it would occasionally stop even with a new battery. 

If it clearly runs longer with a battery installed as you say, then that is a good sign for the electronics. The first thing I would try is to remove the plastic case (I had to fashion a tool to compress the time setting knob to remove it.)  Carefully clean the little brass helix on  the balance wheel shaft and the pin-wheel that it drives. Be careful not to damage the tiny detent spring on the pinwheeI rachet. I used a little isopropyl alcohol which probably flushed the lower balance pivot as well. This instantly had the movement running smoothly. It now runs all the way down to 1.0 volt before stopping.