So I've taken about a month off after the holidays and a knee injury but ready to get back to the bench.  I've disassembled my 6497 (first one) and did not bother to take out the main spring since I wasn't sure if I wanted to install it by hand.  Since then I've acquired a mini-set of Bergeon winders, but I think I will re-wind by hand anyway just to get the experience.

But my question is whether there is a better way to unwind a spring than by hand.  I'll do it by hand but I've read that you can deform (I think coning is the term?) a spring by either winding or unwinding by hand.  I've certainly not heard of an "un-winder" but if you wanted to lube a serviceable spring are you pretty much left to unwind by hand?

So, I'm new to this also, but I've watched a few pros do it on YouTube. You're right; there doesn't seem to be any instruction other than to be careful and unwind coil by coil. I think the main thing to remember is that if that thing unwinds too fast or flies across the room, you could break the... BRAKE? You know, the piece at the end that forks off from the mainspring coil. Once unwound, most mainsprings will have that very nice S-shaped curve, and if you get to that point, I think you've done a great job.

Also, if cleaning in a machine that agitates, it's possible to break a very old mainspring or separate that BRAKE. Ask me how I know 😂

I think everyone should try winding them by hand a few times just in case you don't have the right winder in the future and need to wind by hand and be cautious about applying grease before replacing them back into the barrel. The most egregious crimes in watch lubrication are those watches that, when opened up, the mainspring is full of grease and leaking into the rest of the movement.

I would love to know if there are other ways of unwinding but it does seem to be something most do by hand.