Cannot manually wind ETA 2892 (date and time setting are fine) - what to check?

I have just put together an ETA 2892 back after cleaning. Time accuracy is very good so far but the winding stem is causing problems.

Crown position 2 (date setting) and crown position-3 (time setting) feel and work absolutely fine.

Issue is with crown position -1 where after couple of days of winding without problems, the crown is has started to feel extremely tight, so tight that I cannot manually wind any more. If I take out the crown to position -2 and put it back to position-1, I can do just about 2 turns where I can feel the watch winding and then the crown does to rotate any more and feels rock solid (I did not try any more).

Feels like an issue with the keyless works but as I have very little experience with ETA 2892, could I please get some pointers on what I should check when I strip the movement back again?

Is the intermediate wheel chamfered on one side, if so there is a possibility that you may have installed it upside down, generally the chamfer goes down (but there are always exceptions of course). I once did this and the winding felt 'crunchy' when winding, but didn't lock up like you have experienced. If you change the stem to the date setting position, you would temporarily disengage the sliding pinion from the wheel and when you return the stem to the winding position it would re engage for a few turns until it locks up again... Could explain what you are seeing?

Hopefully this is a reasonably quick check as you may not have to take the keyless assembly apart and fight the yolk spring 🤣

Other thing that came to mind is the automatic works, if this has an issue it can sometimes lock up the winding mechanism, but not sure if your movement has an automatic works... Worth a try.

• Like 1

6 minutes ago, Waggy said: