My first true project watch. Really nice condition vintage Seiko 7006a. Non running.

This is my first time trying to restore and fix up a mystery watch from ebay. If anybody who's worked on these old 70's seikos wants to follow this thread your wisdom would be appreciated!
Picked up this guy for a song on ebay specifically because it's one of the nicest condition ones i've seen with an original dial. THe hands are a little patina'd but the dial seems perfect other than two missing lume pips. I love this dial. THere's no real deep scratches or gouges in the case just a MESS of desk dive scratches that should polish out real easy. It's non running, the date and day roll over with the hands but the day does not roll over if you use the second crown position. The crystal would polish up nicely but there is sadly a small crack at 12 oclock so that will have to be replaced.

PXL_20230206_084742777.thumb.jpg.773833717d2be22e5e25c50b65694f65.jpgPXL_20230206_084941713.thumb.jpg.b5f558158711918f86bc9a5bed2cbc23.jpg 

Opening it up the movement looks pretty good. The balance will move with some pretty strong blows from the bellows but things seemed pretty gummed up and there is what looks like either really old solidified grease or oil or maybe glue under the reduction/ratchet wheel screw. Not sure what is up with that. I'm unsure what is going on with the hairspring as i dont' know what a good one in this movement should look like but it looks a little strange inbetween the stud and the regulator arm. I hope it's not shot but if it is i got a parts movement that does barely run so if i have to scavenge one then hopefully that one works well. The movement looks pretty clean other than some light powder rust. Guess i'll pick up some evaporust unless other people have a better method for de-rusting.

PXL_20230206_090614046.thumb.jpg.73a589157b61af87038eb33f999bb8f0.jpgPXL_20230206_091013317.thumb.jpg.bc405995eb68b2481769f2aad58c4d88.jpg