Tag Heuer 2000 - faulty crown or faulty stem ?

Hi everyone,

please bear in mind that this is my first attempt of repair of this type so I might not have the right terminology of things, if so I apologise for that.

i recently acquired this Tag heuer 2000 series 973.006, however for some reason the crown does not push fully inside the case/tube and seems to be locked at the date selection. 
In other words, I can’t pop it in as it’s blocked so by moving the crown it is changing the date. If I pop the crown out once it then moves the hands. Which makes me thinking especially looking at the gap between the crown and the case that there is one more step to put it in.

Checked the crown which seems to be the right diameter, could it be due to the stem being too long or unadapted for this movement ? Which direction should I start to fix it up ?

Edited by Jojotime
Pictures missing

On 3/11/2024 at 5:07 PM, Jojotime said:

Hi everyone,

please bear in mind that this is my first attempt of repair of this type so I might not have the right terminology of things, if so I apologise for that.

i recently acquired this Tag heuer 2000 series 973.006, however for some reason the crown does not push fully inside the case/tube and seems to be locked at the date selection. 
In other words, I can’t pop it in as it’s blocked so by moving the crown it is changing the date. If I pop the crown out once it then moves the hands. Which makes me thinking especially looking at the gap between the crown and the case that there is one more step to put it in.

Checked the crown which seems to be the right diameter, could it be due to the stem being too long or unadapted for this movement ? Which direction should I start to fix it up ?

Hi there,

Is the crown 'screw in' type, or 'normal'?

From what You say, I will assume it is normal type. If so, then You would need to do this checks:

Take out the stem with the crown and take out the movement from the case. Then, test