Focusable eyepieces or not?

I am looking at microscopes and have narrowed it down to Amscope SM-4TP or SM-4NTP.  I can barely wrap my head around focal length, FOV and depth of field and would appreciate any assistance.

From what I can discern the 4NTP has focusable eyepieces while the 4TP has an integrated dioptric adjuster.  The 4TP is a little cheaper.  What are the pros and cons of each?  Does it matter for practical watch repair workflow?

Would appreciate any input from owners of these 2 types of microscopes.

Here is a great review and hints on the features that are key for watchmaking. I have an Amscope, but wish i had watched this first. I bought directly from the Amscope site as they had a good discount on their site, so worth checking out too.

Hey waggy that is a good video but I think he gets the magnification wrong.  The objective lens is actually .7x to 4.5x so with 10x eyepieces it is effectively 7x to 45x.

He also doesn't mention focusable eyepieces vs a built in diopter.  Looking at this video and others like it I think where you adjust focus doesn't really matter, but please anyone correct me if I'm mistaken.

9 hours ago, omegahunter said:

I am looking at microscopes and have narrowed it down to Amscope SM-4TP or SM-4NTP.  I can barely wrap my head around focal length, FOV and depth of field and would appreciate any assistance.

From what I can discern the 4NTP has focusable eyepieces while the 4TP has an integrated dioptric adjuster.  The 4TP is a little cheaper.  What are the pros and cons of each?  Does it matter for practical watch repair workflow?

Would appreciate any input from owners of these 2 types of microscopes.

Focal length doesn't super matter for our purposes here. More than anything, it dictates the size of the scope. We're not super sensitive to that parameter. It's used in the SM head to vary the level of magnification, but since the size of the scope is what it is, and it's not extreme in any way, it's moot.