bojan1990

Watches for repair hobby on ebay?

Hello,

I have been playing with repairing watches for a year now (with one longer break for a couple of months). I have learned some basic things (dissembling, cleaning, oiling, reassembling). I am still learning how to manipulate hair spring, for example. Most of the time, I bought old cheap dirty watches for bargain on ebay and worked on them. Mostly of them were ladies watches (although smaller, they were always cheaper) with ETA movements from 60s and 70s. Here and there I managed to work on Seiko 6309 and 7009 movements. I worked with few pocket watches (which seemed so easy compared to tiny ladies wristwatches).

Now, I would like to step up and concentrate at least on one manufacturer, so I can work constantly on movements, and have spare parts from other. It seems that ETA is the best choice, since I am interested in vintage watches from 50s, 60s, 70s and 80s. There a lot of spare parts on ebay, and again cheap watches which could donate spare parts as well.

Do you have any tips on buying this kind of watches on ebay? What to look for/not to look for?

My general idea would be to concentrate on low cost watches such as Eterna, Doxa, Tissot, Mido, Rado etc. and avoiding rust. What price is generally expected here?

16 minutes ago, bojan1990 said:

My general idea would be to concentrate on low cost watches such as Eterna, Doxa, Tissot, Mido, Rado etc. and avoiding rust. What price is generally expected here?

It would be impossible to say it's too open a question all those makes you mention have sought after models that command high prices into the thousands in some cases and less sought after models that don't you just have to keep your eyes peeled and learn as much about the subject as you can, find out which models command high prices and sometimes with ebay you get lucky. 

Use the Ebay sold listings button and do the math for yourself you will soon get an idea of what prices they are fetching.